Tonight I am on catch up with my Squared classes as I was again dis-connected last week (if you have read my previous blog post).

So, getting social, thinking social, acting social and of course being social. I am enjoying the live format of the classes, I find the newsfeed interesting and frustrating both at the same time. Frustrating in that I find my eyes scrolling up and down as I try to see what and who people are replying to. It’s a bit like okay, there is the answer, now who asked the question and what was it?

But again, the class raised some great points. I have always enjoyed the stats side of things and analytics, so I really enjoyed the video from Eric Qualman, for the non-Squares reading this, it’s below.

This raises a lot of wow moments, $6 billion in virtual goods will be brought by social gamers vs $2.5 billion in real good by movie goers. It made me think about my trips to the movies vs what I am willing and have already paid for in apps, and app extensions from Apple alone. I would feel ripped to pay £7-8 for a drink and some popcorn, but I have spent £2+ for ‘coins’ or other virtual money on certain games with a little bit of a sway, but I’d do it.

But a big part of the ‘Getting Social’ class for me tonight was confirming what I believe about content, and engaging content. How people react to good content, the voice of that content and the responsiveness and ‘genuine honesty’ of the brand in their response.

Using an automated response, if it works and you can pull it off, well done and the funny ones are well, funny and deserving of a good giggle. But when it goes bad, it can go really really bad, Bank of America had a recent twitter #fail in a big way.Bank of america bot

 

And you can read the full twitter feed here… Bank Of America Bot

But then again, there are some ‘Oldies and goodies’ in the auto-bots too thanks to Mashable for this article.

Anyway, must again play catch up, more to read and watch. Signing off.